SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

TS Binoviewers arrive

Hello. I have just managed to purchase some TS Binoviewers from Derek. So thought would put a little post up. Have thought about Binoviewing for a while as I did always enjoy the two eye approach when using my binoculars ( IMO seems to shut you off from the outside world more ,and draw you into the target ).  These Binos have recently came up for sale,so I thought I would give it a go. I will probably use them mostly on lunar , but have thought about trying them on solar also as I have never tried this before ( warning for newbies, do not use your telescope to look at the sun ,as a special solar filter must be used). So should be an interesting experience overall. Any observations or advice then please reply, will use on SW equinox 120ed apo.

I will obviously need to get pair eyepieces, so please understand this if the collectionist lable is going to be used?

Thanks and I hope you like my new accusations into binoviewing. ☺   

IMG_20160803_112705.jpg

IMG_20160803_112315.jpg

Nice set of binoviewers. They have the compression ring fittings for eyepieces which are better IMO than the normal small (and fiddly, easy to lose!) screws.

Optically, the main brands of binoviewers are much the same at this price point, eg Baader, WO, Skywatcher, Celestron etc. They are all pretty good when well collimated.

You will need an OCS (barlow lens) to bring them to focus in your ED120, did one come with the set? (sometimes they come with two, such as a x1.6 and a x2.0 or x2.5).