NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Scope advice needed

Hi All,

I need some good impartial advice.  I've been interested in stargazing and astronomy as long as I can remember.  I have been using a pair of Celestron 10x50 binoculars for about 8 months now and would now like to start getting a feel for telescopes.

I don't want to spend a fortune on an all singing, all dancing scope just yet, looking to spend no ore than £100 to begin.

II have been looking at the Celestron 76mm Firstscope on Amazon , does anyone have any experience with this scope.  All of the reviews seem good and the specs seem reasonable.

I am not expecting to see too much at this stage, just better moon images and closer views of some planets an nebulae.

I dell I want to get more into astrophotography, but need to start small.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I

Hi Fey
This is within budget under £100 and is the same style but bigger aperature at 100mm. A grab and go telescope can always be used.
http://www.firstlightoptics.com/beginner-telescopes/skywatcher-heritage-100p-tabletop-dobsonian.html

I agree with this. If it's within your budget it's always going to be worth spending more on aperture at the outset until you get to the point where weight/portability becomes an issue.

As Floater says try the FLO site.

They put together a 60mm Celestron at around £60 in possible response to the TV advert with a scope, they also have a 70mm scope of much the same criteria just a bit bigger at £75 - to me that is the better option.

At some time consider 2 (at least) better eyepieces in the way of a plossl or two, do not go for some insane magnification. With the 70mm you should look at a max of 100x, but you will get better results with 70-80x.

There is an astro group that meet at Regents Pk, Baker Street Irregular Astronomers, check their website for when they meet as they tend to move the night (Wednesday) dependant on weather.