Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

At last some images worth posting, M33 and M42

focaldepth

At last some images worth posting, M33 and M42.

Hi all,

I have been imaging for 4 years now and have struggled every step of the way. So far I have not posted any of my work. Now however, here are my 2 latest attempts and finally I am not too embarrassed by the results. Thanks to all the help, advice and tips on SGL.

I have just had 4 nights at Kielder and we had 3 good nights there so I concentrated on M33 and before packing up on the last night, I had a very quick go at M42.

So my practice imaging through urban murk has paid off at a dark sky site.

Here is M33 L 33x10min, B 10x10min, G 12x10min, R 10x10min

8” Quattro on HEQ5 with SXVR H18 and SX Costar on OAG (My new(ish) portable imaging rig)

m33_LRGB_3es.jpg

And M42 L 19x35s, B 13x35s, G 11x35s, R 11x35s

8” Quattro on HEQ5 with SXVR H18 and SX Costar on OAG (My new portable imaging rig)

m42_stack1es.jpg

I also took a few shots of the milky way with a canon 7D on astrotrak at 17mm f/2.8, Here is one.

It features Casiopea and Triangulum and you can just make out M33 bellow and to the right of M31.

Cas_0s.jpg

Now I am back home I will try for some HA to add to M33. The first attempt was scuppered by a swinging power supply pendulum.

I also need a lot more work on my processing skills as I am sure there is more to pull out of the data.

Next up I need to get the hang of Wavelets and Noise Reduction. I thought I was nearing the top of the learning curve and over the summit is another one.

Anyway, enjoy.

Thanks for the nice comments.

Nice detail in both images. There seems to be a slight colour gradient in the M33 image. Don't know what caused that