Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Total Newbie - Help wanted.

I have bought my son a Skywatcher 130p EQ2 telescope and have been having some great success in viewing the moon, but, what I would like to know is, how can I get some pictures of the moon on the cheap ?

I have an iphone 5c and was wondering is there an adapter you can get to line the camera lens up with the telescope eye piece ?

I do not have the cash to buy a dslr, I do have an old Nikon digital camera though, but, don't think I can use that.

Any ideas anyone ?

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Craters - HTC- Desire

Hi and welcome to SGL.

You can just hold your iPhone to the eyepiece, and if you use your  eyepiece with the largest  focal number, that should  allow your camera lens to better align to the image in the bigger eyepiece.

Its not perfect, but does work. That said, you could buy an adaptor plate or design something  instead.

I have used that method, but, it tends to be very fiddly and difficult to get a decent image.

I just wondered if anyone had created some adapter to allow this to be done ?

15d881a9de7a5267e3ba54dd472402a8.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

As you can see, I manage (with difficulty) to get an image, but, it takes some messing around getting the iphone lens just right, but, I will check out DSS and see what I can do.

This is an example of the bracket that you need for your smart phone.

http://www.telescopehouse.com/acatalog/Revelation-Smartphone-holder-with-tripod-threaded-bush-1.html

you'd need to combine it with one of these..

http://www.telescopehouse.com/acatalog/Revelation-P195-A-Universal-Digiscoping-Adaptor-28mm-45mm.html

http://www.telescopehouse.com/acatalog/Revelation-P200-A-Universal-Digiscoping-Adapter-43mm-65mm.html