Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First scope

Hi all,

Total noobie here I'm afraid and I'm going to ask a question I'm sure has come up time and time again.

I'm moving house in a couple of months, out of the city and into the Scottish borders where Id like to buy my first scope and have a look at what's above us. Id like one that could in the future turn its hand to basic astrophotography and DSOs would be the main objective, although lunar and planets would be a bonus too. I'm having a real hard time trying to figure out if a reflector or a retractor is the way to go as every bit of advice I read seems to contradict the next.

My budget is not huge so I'm looking at something along the lines on a Starwatcher Explorer 130 or 150,.. or a startravel or Evostar in the 102-120 range. Id also like whatever I get to be portable enough that I can walk it through a field or up a small hill to get away from the roads/towns.

Am I looking at the right kind of starter kit? any advice of what type of kit is best,.. or on specific models would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Hi, and welcome to SGL.

The new scope question comes up a lot, but don't worry we have all been there ;-)  Astrophotography (AP) means different requirements to plain visual observing. There are also no 'all rounder' scopes per se, so most people if they stick with the hobby end up with whole sets (don't think we have a collective description of a large set of scopes is....perhaps something along the lines of finance crippling...)  of scopes, all of which offer different views, or for different uses with AP. 

For taking images, the mount is the key component, and the heavier the better....so dragging one out to dark skies up hills etc might not suit your requirements.  Then there is powering it etc etc....so it does end up snowballing in terms of cost and weight.