Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Absolute beginner help!

Hello! I apologise in advance as I'm new here and new to this world. I bought a Skywatcher Explorer 200p with EQ5 mount.

I set it up, pointed my finder at the moon to give me a start on something "big" loaded my eyepieces, looked through the eyepiece and nothing!

Just a blur! I rotated the focus wheel but I cannot see diddley squit!

Can anyone advise please me of where I'm going wrong?

Thanks in advance!

Phil

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Check the focuser unit and remove the 2" adaptor (200P's are sneaky).

During the day align the finder and the scope, pick something a couple of miles away, anything less then half a mile is questionable.

Put the 1.25" adaptor back in and drop in the 25mm eyepiece.

Then retry the whole aim finder at moon and view moon sequence.

That 2" adaptor tends to catch 80% of the people out, it looks as if it should be there, and it comes with it sat there looking all correct.

I am afraid that finders do not come aligned.

Although you would think it the actual field of view is going to be quite small, you are looking at about 1.25 degrees with the 25mm and that is not very much.

Try with the 25mm first, that's the lowest magnification (x40) so it will be easiest to work with.

As said above don't use all the adaptors at once, just use the ones you need.

The 10mm eyepiece will give you 100x magnification, great when you are already centres on your target. The Barlow will double the magnification of whichever eyepiece you attach it to, use this to get really close up once your comfortable with the scope.

TSED70Q, iOptron Smart EQ pro, ASI-120MM, Finepix S5 pro.

Yes it does. However still only a blur. I was going to have a look tonight but it's not ideal this evening. Sorry to be a pain!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk