Hi from Birmingham

Hf86

Hi I'm new to Astronomy and have purchased some 12x50 binoculars, I know they're a little too big but was wondering what can I expect to see of the moon? Some decent sized craters I hope. I tried to use them last night but it was very cloudy here so couldnt see anything.

Thanks.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Hf86 and welcome to Sgl. I'm probably not the one to answer q's about bins as I don't really use them much. Just a tip if you don't already know it. try turning a soft broom up-side-down to use as a rest to keep them steady. Enjoy your time here :)

There is so much you can do with binoculars.  They're great for the Moon - see what detail you can see at the terminator (where the dark bit meets the light bit).  It's different every day so it's always worth a look.

At this time of year it can be very enjoyable to get a sun lounger, lie outside and just look up.  There is so much to see around Cygnus, lots of pretty clusters and coloured double stars.  Once you start to learn your way around, see if you can find some of the bigger asterisms like the Coathanger.  If you can get somewhere dark try to find M13 Hercules Globular Cluster or M31 Andromeda Galaxy.  They will only be little fuzzy blobs in binoculars but you will know what they are.

A great resource is http://binocularsky.com/

Hi, Hf86, and a warm welcome to SGL, and to the wonderful worlds of amateur astronomy!  If you haven't done alread, I can recommend downloading the free planetarium 'Stellarium' which is used by many on here not only to find objects in the night sky but also to plan a viewing session. It is customisable to your location and to particular bins/scope - giving you an idea of what you should be able to see through the eyepiece. Downloadable here: http://www.stellarium.org/?ref=nf

Hope that helps,

Martin

Hello,