Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

'Upgrade' from 150P to 130P-DS...?

This might seem like a weird thing to consider. I am a newbie and have a 150P and have had some encouraging results so far. I'm very happy with the scope's performance, which is limited mainly by my own experience.

However, one of the things I have considered as an upgrade is a 10:1 Crayford focuser as this will benefit me I believe. But... £100 for a replacement focuser for the 150P or ~£150 for a complete 130P-DS OTA with the 10:1 focuser and shortened tube for prime focus photography leaves me wondering which would be the better choice? I have seen some fabulous images taken with the 130P-DS so I know it is a capable scope. I already have the EQ3.2 mount with motors so I would just need the OTA.

At the moment I am very much learning and imaging most everything out there, and I'm aware that there is no 'one scope fits all' solution. However, I don't particularly want a scope that is too powerful because I would lose out on some of the wider field DSO's.

Any comments would be welcome - positive or negative. I'm just throwing the idea out there! :smiley:

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Positive - your mount will handle the smaller scope better.

I image with my 150p rather than my 200p for this very reason.

That will change when The beast is commissioned. (Meade 16ds mount with AWR goto)

I think the mount is right on its limits, especially with a DSLR and other assorted gubbins chucked onto it as well. Both the 150P and 130PDS are f5, the shorter focal length of the 130 might mean I lose out a little on planets but gain on some DSO's (Pleiades doesn't fit in the 150P FOV!)

I think the mount is right on its limits, especially with a DSLR and other assorted gubbins chucked onto it as well. Both the 150P and 130PDS are f5, the shorter focal length of the 130 might mean I lose out a little on planets but gain on some DSO's (Pleiades doesn't fit in the 150P FOV!)