Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

should i get a HEQ5 PRO?

hi been saving for a few months now and am about to upgrade my mount, i currently have a eq5 with motors, and a 150pds but want to upgrade my mount so i can eventually have a guided setup.

some questions i have are:

is it portable?

does all guiding software work on it?

will it carry all the equipment i need for imaging? (when i eventually get it) 

i was going to order my mount within the next couple of days but thought id just ask if anyone has any last minute advice. im a beginner to AP and don't want to end up spending a lot of money on something that's not going to be the best equipment for what i need. all the reading iv done seems to suggest its the best mount for the money and a good beginner mount but are there any negatives or has anyone had any problems with it? or are there any other mounts around the same price i should be considering?

apologies if all this has been asked in other posts or if these are stupid questions. 

thanks, iain 

The HEQ5 is a good mount and is suitable for imaging and guiding.  It will take your scopes weight easily (and have "spare capacity" for a guide scope or finder guider).

I have used one myself for the last couple of years and would only add a couple of things to consider:

You will most likely need a laptop to control your camera and guiding, therefore you could also use it to control the mount.  EQMOD (freeware) is the way to go with Cartes du Ceil as your star atlas (some folk use Stellaruim but I prefer CdC with all its additional catalogues - over a million objects to choose from!).  If you go this route you only need the SynTrek version of the mount and an EQDIR cable - saving you quite a bit of money.

Second - are you future proof?  or will you want to upgrade to an EQ6 or similar?