Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Horizon BBC2 Program about Gravity

Beyond_Vision

Yeah, unfortunate everything associated with Particle Physics, Cosmology etc. has to be accompanied by "up the left nostril" camera angles (yeah, the guy smiles a lot, but, obliquely, came across as almost... "shifty"?) Then the traditional blurred city/car lights, desert cacti, whizzes and bangs. So very different from etc. The recent Jim Al-Khalili "Atom" series seems to have received almost universal (including lay) acclaim. IMO wonderful! That's the way to do it... :D

I can't say I enjoyed it too much. I hope this is not a new format for the presenting of science programmes. A bit of fun and games sits well in the Xmas Lectures, but this was a serious subject, and demands serious application.

I have nothing against Cox, he appears to be a very happy person, and nowt wrong with that.

If I was a dentist, I probably would not have minded too much that his teeth seemed to hog most of the camera.

The subject itself fascinates me, but I was not keen on the format of this program to lay it out.

Besides, I have lost most of my teeth, and I was just a little jealous. :D

Ron.

Still what a great money spinner particle physics is. Where shall we build the next atom smasher - here is a nice place - and they have a billion to spare. Maybe they would save money if they had a cage of mice in the office of the machine that was just to old and slow - rather than the plastic ducks. After all mice are pan-dimensional and so, it seems, is the graviton.

The recent Jim Al-Khalili "Atom" series seems to have received almost universal (including lay) acclaim. IMO wonderful! That's the way to do it... :D