NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Greetings!

ThatDave

Hello Everyone,

Just wanted to post a quick message to say hello and introduce myself. I'm Dave and I currently reside in Warrington where I work as a Software Developer.

I've been interested in astronomy since I was a young lad, and having borrowed a small Tasco refractor from a teacher at school I was bitten by the bug. A few years later my Dad bought his first scope (a 6" reflector I believe) and I was well and truly hooked! He, my younger brother and I spent a majority of nights out in the freezing cold looking at all sorts! Jupiter, Mars, Saturn and I even remember seeing the Andromeda galaxy for the first time! Amazing sight!

Years later, we used that same scope to project the total solar eclipse. It was great, we were in Newquay and the sky cleared up just long enough to see it all happen! My dad upgraded over the years, eventually getting some type of schmidt cassegrain (I think it was a 10"), but a few years later he sold it to upgrade again, but the money ended up going towards something else (Holiday I think lol)

I've recently decided it's time for getting back in to the hobby, and owning a half-decent SLR camera (Canon EOS 550D) I fancy a go at some deep sky photography. I've just purchased my own scope today (Skywatcher Explorer 8" motorized HEQ5) which should be turning up next week, and I simply cannot wait to get started!

I realise however, that this country seems to be blanketed in cloud the majority of the time. I further realise that the evenings are getting lighter now, and perhaps I should of decided to do this a few months back!

Anyway, that's me... So to reiterate... Hello! :)

Dave