NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Which 10" Dob.

Hi. not sure if this is the right place for this but here goes. Im fairly new to this game (5 months or so) and have a SW 127,which im vert pleased with but Im already looking to the future! I have been looking at many posts on this site and doing other research and im leaning towards a 10" Dob. I have seen a few about but am being drawn to either an Oriom 10TX (think thats right or the Skywatcher 250. From the vast amount of experiance out there, which of these two scopes is best or is there another i should consider?

I guess you mean the Orion 10 XT ? - thats Orion (USA) rather than Orion Optics (UK). The Orion XT's have the same optics as the Skywatcher 250's as far as I know. Their tubes are slightly longer and they have that gunmetal grey colour scheme as opposed to the Skywatchers more traditional white with black trim. Orion (USA) products tend to be more expensive in the UK than their Skywatcher counterparts. I believe they are made by the same manufacturer though.

I've got the Skywatcher 250 Flex tube auto and I've been very pleased with it. One of the considerations for me was the storage size, and as it collapses into a not so large tube allowed me to have a 10" and be able to store it without it getting in the way too much.

Unfortunately, I've nothing to compare it with, so I'd suggest that if you can, try and do a side by side comparison if you could. Your local astronomy club may be able to help.

Orion Optics UK VX range. Custom select options for enhancing optics, focuser etc. Noted for high quality mirrors and very good build quality, including their dobsonian bases. Also less of a footprint and lighter and compact than say Skywatcher alternatives - however quite pricey.