Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from Wigan

johnnytomorrow

Hi All,

I was given a small Dobson for Christmas from the family (after a few dropped hints) and while the skies were clear over the New Year I enjoyed some great views of Saturn and its moons which blew me away in terms of what I could see from such a modest scope. I am hoping that maybe I can upgrade to something larger during the year so will be scouring the forum for tips and advice on good scopes to move on to, within a budget of course.

I am also a keen photographer and am really interested in combining the two and taking some shots of what I can see in the sky so I am hoping for some good advice from you guys.

Right it's too cloudy to get out so I am off for a mooch around the topics, speak soon.

JT

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to SGL

If you're interested in imaging then you should really get a copy of Steve Richards "Making Every Photon Count". Astrophotography has quite different requirements from visual observing and it's not easy to find a setup that fits both requirements, but if you read that book you should have some idea of what you're getting yourself into. Penury, mostly :)

James

Welcome to SGL

If you're interested in imaging then you should really get a copy of Steve Richards "Making Every Photon Count". Astrophotography has quite different requirements from visual observing and it's not easy to find a setup that fits both requirements, but if you read that book you should have some idea of what you're getting yourself into. Penury, mostly :)

James