Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Photographer takes to the sky.

Waylandscape

Hello,

I've been a keen landscape photographer for a few years now, going back to pre digital days but now firmly in the electronic imaging camp. As such, I'm often out in remote locations at all hours and recently I'm becoming more and more interested in some of the fantastic night skies that I've seen.

Photography is very much bound up with the way I enjoy experiencing the World around me and I think that is something I want to extend to the night sky as well.

I've already experimented a little with star trails.

Castlerigg-Circles.jpg

And I've been lucky with shooting the Aurora a couple of times.

Northern-lights-Norway-5-3-2012.jpg

But watching BBC Stargazing live this week, I've been really inspired by the kind of images posted in by amateur astronomers from apparently fairly modest equipment.

Of course, I'm not foolish enough to think it is just as simple as buying a telescope and getting pictures comparable to the Hubble images, but I was genuinely surprised at the quality of some of the deep space images shown on the program from terrestrially sited scopes.

I'm here to begin a journey. My first steps will be to read a lot of the advice on this forum and research the kind of equipment that I really need, not just to view, but also to get decent photographs of what I see. I'm not going to rush into a shop and buy the first thing I see. I'd rather spend some time, and more money if necessary to get the right gear first time.

My knowledge of the sky is fairly limited. I can pick out a few constelations, mainly to navigate with but I am keen to learn more. I've had a long interest in the cosmos but lack the practical knowledge that I hope to develop here.

I hope you won't mind some of my hopelessly naive beginers questions as I stumble along that path. Any pointers in the right direction would of course be greatly appreciated.