Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Resolution of astro CCD cameras

petercoxphoto

Hi folks -

I'm a professional landscape photographer and have recently started with astrophotography. I'm very much enjoying it, and there are definitely many important differences between the two types of photography - and I have an awful lot to learn.

For my landscape photography, I mainly use a medium format digital system - a Phase One IQ180, which offers 80Mp resolution. For when I need to work more quickly than this allows, I use a Canon 5D Mk II. This is the camera that I've been using so far in my astrophotography, paired with a 70-200mm f/2.8 lens. So for me, 21mp is my low resolution option.

I've had some success, and I do plan to buy a good astrograph in the medium term with the intent of doing mainly deep sky imaging. My problem is I'm not sure what to do about the camera.

It's down to the choice between DSLR and CCD. I already have the 5D, but it's not Baader modified, nor will it be as I need to use it in my daytime work also. So either way, for serious astro work I'll need a new camera.

I like the idea of the mono CCD cameras, and of course the reduced noise of a cooled CCD is an obvious advantage. With a mono CCD I should theoretically get about twice the effective resolution as it's not limited by the Bayer matrix. At least, in terrestrial imaging this is what I would expect - I'm assuming it is for astro work as well.

My problem is that it seems like 16mp is about the limit of astro CCD cameras, and for that you have to shell out a significant amount of money. Given that I make and sell large fine art prints of my images, and hope to do the same with my astro work, resolution is important to me. If a 16mp mono CCD can equate to a ~28mp one shot camera, that's not too bad.