NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

beginners telescope

squally74

hi everyone, really struggling to choose a starter telescope. I have a limited budget of about £200 and am getting confused with all the advice out there. Was thinking of getting a skywatcher 130p, but really not sure. Am a total beginner but dont want to waste money on something that I will need to update in a very short space of time. Please help me!!!!

Hi Squally, welcome to SGL.

It may be better to post your question in the "beginners telescope help & advice" section, as you might get a better response. I would say that if you have a budget, then you will be constrained by it, in which case a 130p would be an admirable starter scope, lots of members here have them, and I'm sure they will give you more of an idea of what, realistically, to expect :cheesy: Best not to worry about what you may want or be able to afford later on, as you will drive yourself nuts :angry9:

hi everyone, really struggling to choose a starter telescope. I have a limited budget of about £200 and am getting confused with all the advice out there. Was thinking of getting a skywatcher 130p, but really not sure. Am a total beginner but dont want to waste money on something that I will need to update in a very short space of time. Please help me!!!!

Hi Squally,

Welcome to the lounge :)

I see you are a total beginner in the tough process of buying a new scope and you have a £ 200 budget. We've all been there and you are in the right place to learn more :)

Before the SGL members will say more, you may wish to include some details about what would you like to do or see with the telescope. This way it's gonna be way easier to give some more helpful advice :)

Things to consider when choosing the scope are:

* Portability

- do you need a grab & go setup?

- or are you setting up a fixed observatory i.e. in your roof or garden?

- is weight / size a problem for you?