Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter GRS Help in Observing it.

lifeonmars

Hello everyone I am quite new to astronomy and have observed Jupiter over a couple of nights and struggled to see the gsb last night (5dec) as it transited the disc

I am using a Equinox 120 refractor on a HEQ5Pro I used a meade 20mm super wide with a 2x Astro engineering barlow (90X) ,and for high power a Celestron X Cell LX 5mm (180X) .I viewed the planet for a good 2 hrs up till about 11.30 pm.Only during brief moments of good seeing did i think I could probably see some disturbance in the cloud belt around where the gsb should be.

Am I using too much power,would I see a noticeable amount of more detail with a premium quality eyepiece Televue Radian etc.I suppose another factor must be my 55 year old eyes!Thanks for your help!

If I'm interpreting this correctly (I'm new too!) http://www.skyandtel...-159437655.html

Then the GRS wasn't visible when you were looking.

HTH

I was observing the GRS last night. I think it was due to pass through the centre of the plant at almost 11 pm exactly. Its visible about an hour either side of that as it approaches and leaves the centre. I find I dont get the GRS unless I'm near x200. I like getting to about x250-260 when the seeing allows. You must spend some time at the eyepiece, relax your eyes and 'train' yourself to look for it. One you get it, its easy thereafter. You must spend time observing as the atmospheric conditions change from moment to moment and once you have the best focus you can, the clarity will improve and disimprove as the seconds lapse. You're jsut waiting for that perfect moment to arrive.

Very satisfying.

Good luck.

Barry

Thanks for the above information,maybe I am being too impatient ,but I will persevere.I just wondering if I am pushing it a bit Magnification wise,and also if my high power highpiece is up to the job!