New to this site and Astrophotography

Christopher Winstone1986

Hello,

I'm relatively new to this hobby but I want to start taking pictures of what I've seen. I was wondering if I could get some pointers?

I have a celestron nexstar 130 slt telescope and I'm thinking about getting a Canon 650D camera but not knowing anything about astrophotography at the moment I don't know if this is a good camera to get!

I've seen people use webcams and stacking on photoshop but that seems way too complicated for what I want, plus I want a decent camera anyway so I just want to be sure that it will work well with my telescope.

I want to start off small with the moon and wide field sky shots but I eventually want to take pictures of planets and hopefully deep space objects (no idea how to do that at the moment!)

Also, being new I've not seen much (only Jupiter, Andromeda and the moon) so if anyone could point me towards a target that a new starter living in Cambridge, uk with an ok(ish) level of light pollution, that would be fantastic!

Looking forward to getting to know this community :smiley:

Thanks in advance,

Chris

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hiya chris, welcome to SGL, remember if you have a question just post it no matter how daft you may think it because at the end of the day you will get an honest answer on here, trust me I have been there :grin: :grin:

Welcome to SGL.

The usual advice for anyone getting interested in DSO imaging is to buy a copy of "Making Every Photon Count" and have a good read through that first. It will probably save you from expensive mistakes and help you get clear in your own mind what you actually want to achieve.

Lunar and wide field shots can be done with just a camera, or a camera and telescope depending on the intended result and the 650D would surely be good for that, but if you read the above book first you may decide that another route is perhaps more appropriate...