Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron Power Tank 7A

I'm no electrical expert but this is my understanding. A 7ah battery should deliver one amp for 7 hrs - or 7 amps for 1 hr in theory. If your scope draws 1amp constantly it would last 7hrs theoretically. However - it needs to maintain a minimum voltage range (you can find that in your scope specs) which reduces as battery drains.

Once the voltage drops below a certain level the electronics start exhibiting apparent strange charcteristics - the goto might not be as accurate or it may swing off in the wrong direction. This is normal and doesn't indicate a dud scope or dud battery. It just needs charging back up.

Slewing in both planes simultaneously (eg with goto) causes the most drain - tracking only, considerably less. My 20ah powerpack has lasted in excess of six hours tracking with many goto's in between. I'm sure theres a formula for working out how long a 7ah one would last with your scope but I "guestimate" you'll get 2.5 to 3hrs with no problem.

Bear in mind temperature plays a part too - the colder it is the quicker it will drain. So to will additional gear - especially dew controllers and dew bands. I run the scope off the powerpack and other stuff from a PSU. I'm sure I'll be corrected but hope that gives you an idea :)

I've had several sessions lasting 4+ hours with my 6SE and C11+NEQ6 (independently!) where it hadn't exhausted the power tank. I'm a goto junkie, so they would have been slewing about plenty! Note that's without a dew heater though (lucky nights?)

as kim said spot on a 7ah battery will give you 7 amps for 1 hour or 1 amp for 7 hours but as volts drop your go to might/will act strange also cold temps will drain the battery quicker. i wrapped my batterys in neoroprene to help fight this