NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Downgraded from 10" scope to a pair of bins! First Light Report!

Hi everyone,

It's been a while since I lasted posted on the site, however I thought I would post this first light report to share with you all my enthusiasm for some new bins I bought!

Long story short, I've been observing the sky on and off for the past 20 years. Started out with a 40mm refractor -> 6 inch Dob -> 8 inch Dob, and finally a 10" Dob (aperture fever!). In between each of these scopes I got out of the hobby for a year or more (10 to 15 years between the 6 and 8 inch Dobs!).

Anyway, the Skyliner 250px was sold two weeks ago.. I just don't have the time and inclination to set the scope up anymore very late at night with a busy work life and a 3 year old who keeps me 100% busy during the day!!

After a long and hard think about it (the scope was spending more time inside than out), I decided to sell the scope and buy a pair of bins - nothing too crazy, just a nice pair of 10 x 50's as I want portability to take away on holiday with me, be able to use them for viewing aircraft, and of course viewing the sky from my back garden. I bought a pair of Pentax PCF WP II bins last week. Decided to spend a bit on a decent pair but not go overboard until I see how I get on :-)

So, last Friday was an excellent sky here (Northern Ireland) - very clear and transparent and I couldn't believe how many DSOs I managed to bag with these little binos! I even viewed several in Sagittarius which my bigger scopes had never been trained on (I never really travelled to anywhere with the scopes - skies at my home are quite dark but restricted viewing low to the south).

Here's what I managed to view :-