Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

getting started

Ok so I'm new to the world of star gazing and telescopes. I've posted in the welcome section that I plan on buying an 8" skywatcher 200p dobsonian, which seems to be a good place to start, so I have a few questions:

1) Are there any "must have" accessories I should buy

2) In the future, might it be worth upgrading the mount, possibly to a motorized tracker?

3) What adapter will I need to use a webcam with the telescope

4) Who do I call when I see an asteroid/comet on a collision course with the earth?

Any help greatly appreciated.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

1) A collimator to keep it in collimation,

2) Doubtful, if you want motors I suggest getting one with them on at the start,

3) Don't bother as imaging and Dobsonians do not go together, rip the tube off the Dob and put on a driven EQ, then add a webcam.

4) Anyone that will believe you.

A dobsonian relates to the mount of the telescope, like the one below. You can motorise it, but it's generally regarded as easier to buy an EQ mount if Imaging is the way that you want to go.

DOBSKY200_thumb.jpg

The scope part itself is called a Newtonian (regardless of a dob or EQ mount).

skywatcher_explorer_200P_EQ5_thumb.jpg

If you want to take up imaging at some point, then I would suggest going for the second one above and then adding in dual axis motors when you are ready.

When you have a webcam (the Phillips SPC900 are regarded as pretty good), you can get a >>http://www.firstlightoptics.com/adaptors/125-nosepiece-to-webcam-lens-thread-toucam-pro-spc900nc.html<< for it fairly cheap. This just goes where the eyepeice normally goes.

You'll need a laptop, which means a power supply etc...

But it's well worth it.

HTH

Ant