Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

It's that time again! - Observatory Build afoot

Whistlebare

Well I’ve spent the last week or so looking at the various DIY Builds on here and I must say I am very impressed with them. Like others have commented, my favourites are Malcolm's (Malc-c) and Wayne's (Pritc). I shall hopefully be throwing my hat into the DIY Observatory build ring too...Although I have not even taken delivery of my SkyWatcher 200P / HEQ5 PRO yet .

I live in Scotland in a rural area and have two neighbours (30 meters away to the south) and no street lights so therefore very little light pollution, also I'm lucky to have unobstructed views (apart from a tree or two, which will receive a haircut after my build is complete!!).

I am a complete novice to astronomy, but I know from reading this forum that if you really want to get serious about astronomy, you need to have a designated area for you scope (and a pier). So that's what I’m going to do, I just need to decide on a suitable structure such as Penthouse style or traditional pitched roof. Whichever style I choose it has to be wind proof as we do get some strong winds up here and I'd hate to wake up to find my observatory a few fields away from where it should be (like the kids trampoline did a few years ago ).

Anyway I'll be looking to you guys to keep me straight, so when I start posting pics and questions feel free to tell me if you think that I may be doing something wrong.