Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Have i bought the wrong telescope?

Had my first go at looking at the planets last night and i'm rather dissapointed. As you may gather i'm a complete novice so i spent a couple of weeks researching what telescope to buy for little money i.e £100 second hand to view planets in our solar system and decided if i could find a decent reflector that would be best for my money. after talking to a friend he said he had a Helios 115mm x 1000m focal that i could have very cheap so i snapped his hand off. last night i found all the planets i was looking for Mars, Venus, Jupiter and Saturn but i couldn't see any great detail at all just bright spots in the 8mm ep. i suppose if i'm honest Jupiter was quite clearly a planet and the 4 moons were visable but i'm now wondering if i should have gone for a refractor to meet my needs?

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi if its the 114mm 1000mm I believe it has an extra lens in line with the eyepiece. Either way its ok, it sounds as if you cannot achieve good focus. It could need collimating (lining up of the optics). Check out www.astro-baby.com there is a good starter tutorial on collimation. 8mm will give you 125x which should be plenty to see bands on jupiter and rings of saturn nicely.

a cheap refractor is no great shakes either. mars can be a difficult target and venus needs a larger scope to show the clouds. you should have been able to see saturn's rings but I'm guessing the eyepieces are not brilliant either.

Hi Lee, thanks for that i thought the scope would be good enough i'm just not so sure now and a bit deflated. i'll look into collimation as i have no idea what this is or affects, another thing i've considered is the ep's i'm 90% sure they are the ones that came with the scope but they're not branded in any way so would quality ones help with magnification and sharpness?

You need to spend more time getting into focus.

It is a slow and patient hobby.