Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New member signing in.

DaveBolton

Hello occupants of the Lounge! I thought it would be rude to hang around without introducing myself…

I am Dave (from) Bolton and I am almost a complete novice at this hobby so lets see if I can get through this without any schoolboy errors.

The night sky has always held a fascination for me but the last time I did anything about that was at the time of the Apollo landings. Yes, I go back that far – in fact I just about even recall Telstar going aloft and then the Gemini program before Apollo. Back then, when I was allowed to make schoolboy errors because I was one, I had binoculars and then a quite small telescope. I also recall maps of the moon being in my possession courtesy of a competition that I won.

Various hobbies have come and gone since then but astronomy (phew – bullet dodged) has always been on the back burner for some reason. My main hobby over the last twenty years or so has been photography and I have earned about 20% of my annual income through that over the last few years, mainly in stock photography. It’s that interest that is dragging me in this new direction and a mix of visual and astrophotography is the direction I want to go.

Over the last six weeks or so I’ve been scouring the magazine stands and then this forum for advice. Ebay is also getting a healthy dose of looking at so I can gauge prices but this seems to be a bad time to try and get established and buy my first decent telescope I fear. The time of year and the BBC can be thanked for that, I suppose.