Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Bino Recommendation Please!

coxy322

Hello chaps, the Mrs is offering to get me some binos for Christmas. I already have a scope but would like somethng I can nip into the garden with to check seeing conditions. Also for the odd quick observing when getting the scope ready is not suitable.

Any recommendations around the 100 quid mark? Ideally not too high mag, would like to hold them in my hands without tripod etc.

Doubt they will be used for terrestial viewing much, if hardly at all...

Hi, I'm a newbie to astronomy who hasn't bought a pair yet but I think I'm going to go for the Telescope House starter pack with Meade 10 x 50 unless anyone can offer major criticism of them. Sherwoods' are offering Nikon Action 10 x 50 at £69., and I'm tempted but I think I would like fogproof if I went for a good make like that.

Regards.

8x42 are great for sweeping the night sky.

For 100 quid (+45 change) get a set of meade 10x50 (for about 35 quid) a cheapo camera tripod (the hama 75 is < 10 quid on amazon) and a metal adaptor to attach them - i got one from strathspey.

I leave it all assembled by the back door and you can get great views of jovian moons, M45 and other bright objects in about 5 seconds flat!

Good for those short breaks in the clouds when it's not worth setting the scope up!

Hi, I'm a newbie to astronomy who hasn't bought a pair yet but I think I'm going to go for the Telescope House starter pack with Meade 10 x 50 unless anyone can offer major criticism of them. Sherwoods' are offering Nikon Action 10 x 50 at £69., and I'm tempted but I think I would like fogproof if I went for a good make like that.

Regards.

I have a pair of the Meade 10x50's they are not well collimated and aren't a patch on my Opticron imagic 10x50's but they aren't £150.

for 10 x50. when i was researching some a while back. at under £100, id say the strathspey models are worth a look

Strathspey Binoculars