Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Star gazing with the kids.

I've been looking to upgrade our scope for a little while now and have been keeping an eye out for a good second hand newt but recently I've been thinking I might be better off with a refractor.

The main reason for this is that the eldest (only 5) loves to come out and have a look through the scope, he also knows his way around stelarium better than i do :) so loves looking for objects on the laptop and then trying to find his way around the sky and locating them.

I'm thinking refractor because it will be easier for him to get to the eye piece without knocking the scope or climbing too high to get to it.

Question is is this a stupid idea? I have no experience with refractors so any advice welcomed.

Cheers in advance

Davie

Hi Davie.

I have to say i agree with you. A small refractor scope (3-4") would be ideal for you and your son. As you say.............the EP is within easy reach.

But not only is the eye piece within easy reach for him but also a refractor will give him better "wow" moments of the moon and planets rather then a reflector.

Having said that............even a 3-4" refractor costs a lot more then a reflector of the same size.

But for kids and giving then "wow" moments................cost is nothing.

I can only suggest what i think is a scope that is the best of both worlds............it will give you and your son great views of the moon,planets and also many many DSO.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-heritage-130p-flextube.html

Its a small but very capable scope for both adults and children.

Its a 5" reflector that costs a fraction of the cost of a 3-4 refractor.

I have one and am in love with it.

I am in a wheelchair and the EP is within easy reach for me, so it will be no bother to a 5 yr old.

Here's a video just to show you how compact and usable the Heritage is: