Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Tripod

SnowsportsSid

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie and I've just bought some Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 binos, which I am double pleased with. I have really enjoyed observing the moon and jupiter over the past week with them.

I've noticed that my arms are shaking quite a bit when using them, and I'd now like to get a tripod. I've had a look on Celestron's website and seen the Heavy Duty Alt-Azimuth Tripod (David Hinds Ltd), which I assume would fit a SkyMaster 15x70.

I've also seen the Horizon 8115 2 Way (Horizon 8115 2 Way Heavy Duty Tripod), which looks pretty good and a few people on here seem to have recommended. Which of these would be my best bet, or is there another model I should be considering?

Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

All tripods use a standard screw connector so there should be no problem with fitment.

One thing to watch out for is that a lot of tripods have sepaarate adjustment screws for Pan and tilt. This would make it a pain to easily adjust the binocular postion, so something with a ball joint or similar with one 'lock and unlock' to move in all directions would be a lot easier.. Most tripods afterall are designed for Cameras where you would spend some time setting up the position, screw everything down and then maybe only adjust the Pan.

I use a s/h camera tripod with mine (£23 from Jessops sale) which on it's own is useless - vibrations, awkward to lock/unlock/move etc. So I got a "fine tuning head" for it (for sale section £18) and it's now brilliant. Can track in alt/az mode using separate controls to the tripod, and vibrations settle in seconds - thoroughly recommended :)

I am also in the process of picking a tripod for my new Adler Kosmos 15 x 70s due to the shaking problem.

So,even though they may be labelled as a 'camera' tripod they can also easily accomodate binocs?