NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New from Almost Canada, NY

RhetoricCamel

Hello everyone, my name is Mike, I'm 27, and I'm new to astronomy and telescopes. I'm located in Plattsburgh, NY.

For Christmas my amazing girlfriend got me a telescope (listed in my signature) thinking it would be fun for me to look at the Moon. What she didn't know is how much I have ALWAYS wanted a telescope! Now I'm addicted. Heck I've only used it to look at the moon once or twice now, but I've gazed at M41 and Jupiter with it quite a few time. Along with Sirius.

When I was in elementary school I had joined the "space club" learning about NASA, the stars, and building those rockets that we got to launch in a huge field. Great fun, and great memories. After which I had kind of drifted away from astronomy, but I have always been amazed by the stars in the sky and what is up there. During the summer I've been known to just lay on the ground and stare into the sky at night and just gaze at it's beauty. Unfortunately I never took the time to learn where all the constellations are or names of stars. I would just look and be amazed.

Now I have a telescope and I'm taking in so much information I can feel my brain wrinkling :) I've learned quite a bit about our solar system (which was more of a refresher from my younger years in the space club). Bought a book called "All Of Astronomy" but found that the title of it online is "Astronomica" which I've read a bit of. It's been pretty helpful in identifying what I'm looking at. I've also been using Stallarium for a couple years now but now that I have a scope it's almost always open and I'm constantly searching for what to look up next.