Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

ANY HELP - SKYWATCHER 130p

jean-luc

I am totally new to astronomy and I have just purchased a skywatcher130p synscan from first light optics, who I have to say have been very helpful!!!

I would very much appreciate any help or advice any members have for me.

Since my purchase only a week ago I have only had about an hour of clear skys. I managed to see the moon through all magnifications which was very impressive and very clear!

I also observed Jupiter through all magnifications the moons were very clear; however the detail on Jupiter itself was very hazy to say the least and in fact I'm not sure if some of it wasn't down to more of my imagination!

I have purchased baader solar film from first light optics and as usual Martin was very helpfull in his advice to me.

I cannot wait to see my fist observations of the sun!!!

I intend to use the cap that is on the 130p which has a cap that comes off by which I should be able to attach the solar film.

Anyway any advice from any 130p owners on any of the above would be much appreciated

Hi and welcome, i also have a 130P but on a EQ mount, how do you find the synscan? been looking to upgrade my mount to this but at £180 still thinking Ep's will come first, and my views of Jupitar are the same but i have the EP's that came with the scope so hoping better ones will help.

Hi there,

I also started out with a 130P, and it's a fine scope. With regard to Jupiter, what you'll find is that with practice of observing you'll get better at seeing fine detail. I remember, just like you, seeing only a hint of one dark band when I first ever saw that planet, but after a short time I found my eyes able to pick out more and more detail.

Welcome to SGL!

my first scope was a 130p autotrak, very capable scopes, 10mm eyepiece that comes with it isn`t the best, 25mm o.k. when looking at the sun remember to cover your finder, the little lens gets hot !