NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Stellarium now V0.10.5

Hi Forum, I was just checking out the Stellarium home page and noticed in as incremented up a version number from 0.10.4 to 0.10.5. Will look into what has changed into the changelog later, but a heads-up anyways.

Cheers,

xmal

I upgraded a couple of weeks ago, although my old one was something like v9.7 so I noticed a few differences. TBH I think I actually preferred the controls on my old version better then v10.5. :rolleyes:

Now to find the download for McNaught and how to load it. :)

I am totally new to astronomy and downloaded the new version.

To me works well, except for one small problem: I have set the location to my country which is fine. However when I try to alter the clock and date from GMT it seems to get all confused and shows incorrect day/night phases. For example, if the GMT is 9 am, my location is set in Asia, everything fine, evening daylight shown. If the clock is altered to my local time of 5 pm, then my location starts to show a completely dark sky as if it were midnight. Very strange.

I hope I explained that okay.

As a program, it is just incredible in that it shows what I should be able to see.

I was amazed last night when I used it.

It now has a 'no OpenGl32' option (whatever that means) for people like me with a stupid laptop that won't run stellarium 10.4.

Its great news because it will now run on a laptop or pc without an OpenGL compatible graphics card....which is a great thing if like me you have a steam powered laptop with old on-board graphics.

I am totally new to astronomy and downloaded the new version.