NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

All I can see are stars...

Robzy

I'm completely new to astronomy and despite where I point my telescope (even if I attempt to aim it at something) all I can see are really small stars. I have a Sky-Watcher 130P with a wide angle, 2x barlow lens and super 10mm eye pieces.

Can someone point my in the right direction to see something exciting tonight (I live just outside Edinburgh, Scotland). As I said I'm completely new to all of this and may just just be using my scope incorrectly (I've read a couple of books and the manual though!) ;)

Download Stellarium, it's a freeware planetarium that will show you your sky in real time.

As for something nice with your aperture you should see M31, M52, M2, M15, M27, the double cluster.

Look them up in Stellarium.

Most important thing to do is to get a star map (like those found in astronomy magazines) and spend some time finding your way around the sky. Identify key constellations and get used to how things look up there.

Use an eyepiece like a 25mm EP and then use your finder to locate objects in the night sky, Mick has given you a great list.

You may find it helpful to join your local astronomy society.

How new to all this?

Basically little use saying go look at M13/M31 or anything like that if you have no idea where to start they may be. It's a big bit of sky up there.

I know from experience of other things that no knowledge means that the basics are meaningless.

Do you know The Plough and Casseiopeia (however it is spelt)?

Also has your scope a finder on it, and is it aligned?

It is a fact, that randomly searching the sky for a chance encounter with a Nebula or Galaxy, will be doomed to failure.

These objects have to be systematically searched for, with the aid of a chart, or a Planisphere, or for those who have one , a GoTo scope.