NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

StarmapPro for the iPhone / Ipod Touch

Neil M

I've just installed the StarmapPro application and would highly recommend this to all beginners trying to find what they're looking for! What's really usefull for me is the eyepiece mode which gives you an actual representation of what you'll see through the ep (after you've input your telescope's apperture, focal length, and all eps you use). You are able to 'zoom' in and out by virtually swapping eyepieces and barlows.

What really makes it useful is that you can flip the eyepiece view to suit your finder scope or eyepiece orientation. As a newbie I find this an exellent feature so I don't have to keep mentally reversing the star map. The application also has the biggest set of options I've seen for an iPod app, even puts Stellarium to shame! Mind you, it's not cheap (for an app that is) but definately worth it IMHO.

http://www.star-map.fr/manualPro.pdf

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi

Do you know which version it is you're using, I’ve not seen some of the options you've mentioned but I think I may have a more dated version. With that in mind though it is an amazing application, I personally like the night vision setting on it, very easy on the eyes lol :)

Hi - I've got version 1.2. Used it to find M81 and M82 last night which are very faint for me, now I don't need to keep popping inside to consult Stellarium and ruining my night vision!

I agree its a great app.

I downloaded the previous version of Starmap and found it to be very good for casual use.

This version though makes any paper star maps almost redundant to be honest. Love the telescope/eyepiece view as well, great for working out what you can see with what scope.

I've also read somewhere it may be able to control telescopes/mounts although I've no firm info on this.

All in all a great application if you have an i-phone.

Regards, Neil.