Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How much time do you spend screwin' around with equipment/software vs imaging

Kilohertz

I decided last October to get back into Astronomy after a 40 year hiatus.  I realized right away it was going to be a steep learning curve but I thought no problem, I've been building computers since about 1978 and into photography since about 1975 and was right into astronomy in the late 70's. 

Well holy shxt was I ever wrong! In the last 4 months I have spent $4000, I have had exactly 2 nights of image capture, mind you the weather has been absolute crap for 3 months, but still, I have spent 90% of my time screwin around with software, computers, mounts, drivers, errors, Windoze issues, software problems etc., it seems the art of photography and image capture has been greatly diluted by technology. When I was in gr10 I went to Yakima WA in 1979 with the local college for the solar eclipse and had a blast. I had a lens from a telescope with a piece of #12 welding glass in front of it, 35mm film camera, probably my old Minolta SRT-201, b&w film, I shot about 72 frames and when I got home I developed my own film and went into my darkroom to make the prints, I still have them and just came across them yesterday. It was a great sense of satisfaction. I know the images I captured were no where near as good as could be had today, but it was WAY more enjoyable, it was actually an astronomy hobby, not a computer hobby.

Anyway, I was just wondering if any of you are in the same boat, completely frustrated with the whole image capture process? I know live observing hasn't changed much but I'm getting too old to be standing around stooped over a scope in -10 weather.

Thanks for listening to my "rant". Your thoughts?

Paul

PS Feb 26th, 1979 eclipse below

IMG_6301.jpeg

IMG_6302.jpeg

• Like 3