NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Need help in selecting targets

LaurenceT

I'm new to imaging, only really started this year. I am using an Asiair and have SkySafari and Stellarium installed on my laptop for reference purposes.

What I'm really after is a way to see all the available targets of a particular type in my area for that night on a single screen while indoors planning my session.

I am obviously able to use SkySafari for instance to select a target from a list and see its position and movement but that's only giving me one target at a time. 

Perhaps I'm asking for the impossible but I'd appreciate some comments.

Edited by LaurenceT

• LaurenceT changed the title to Need help in selecting targets
46 minutes ago, LaurenceT said:

What I'm really after is a way to see all the available targets of a particular type in my area for that night on a single screen while indoors planning my session.

I use Kstars and it has the feature to show all the objects of interest for that night on a single screen. Here is a screenshot. I am assuming that similar feature should be available in Stellarium.

Even though the ASIAir runs the INDI server that Kstars can use, ZWO have made it a closed system so you cant access it from external devices 😞

image.thumb.png.0bc8b02e2478780b75824cc713cbb3dc.png

Edited by AstroMuni
  • Thanks 1

On your asiair in the preview mode, press on the target field to input your target and they'll be lists of targets to choose from categorised in one of the pull down menus from tonight's best, to solar system, DSO etc.

• Thanks 1

I use stellarium to have a good browse around the night sky, you can set the time and date and then just use the mouse to see what's there. Once I have chosen I then import directly in to NINA, though I appreciate that bit would be different for you.

Ed

• Thanks 1

2 hours ago, jacko61 said: