NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Beginner loking for telescope advice.....

:lol: Hello Stargazers, I am new to astronomy (I always watch the sky, know all my constellations etc but never had a telescope) I am now looking to buy my first telescope. I have looked on Ebay and other sites which has made my decision of which to buy even harder.

I would like to buy a telescope that will keep me going for a long time, got a couple of hundred to spend. Would appreciate some advice before I jump in and buy one that is either no good for the job or so confusing that I would not be able to use it. Regards Delilahtwinkle.

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My first bit of advice - be VERY careful with telescopes from eBay - you will no doubts have seen 'bargains' on such makes as Seben - steer clear of them - their optics are vastly inferior compared to well known makes such as Celstron, Meade, Skywatcher, Tal etc. Don't get suckered into those 'scopes that claim 'X magnification' - it's aperture that's important, not magnification; the bigger the aperture, the more you'll see. Also, what type of telescope you eventually buy will, to a large extent, depend on where your interests lie. I'm certainly no expert, but if it's planets you're mainly interested in, then a refractor would be a good choice. If it's deep sky objects, then probably a reflector would be better.

If you eventually want to get into astrophotography, then you'll need an equatorial mount, rather than Alt-Azimuth so that the scope can track objects in the sky as the earth moves.

It's not an easy decision and you'll no doubt get plenty more opinions on what would be best.

Actually, I'd say go for a good pair of binoculars first but I guess that's a personal decision.

Good luck.

Hello Delilah

My advice would also be to avoid buying from ebay unless you already know what you're wanting.