Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What eyepieces should I buy

Hey everyone

I am very new to everything to do with astronomy/looking through a telescope and I have recently bought my first scope (a 8" dob) which came with a 25mm and a 10mm eyepiece but I am looking to upgrade but don't know what is good.

Any help or advice on what eyepieces I should be looking at buying would be much appreciated (budget is anywhere form 0 to 100 pounds per eyepiece)

25 minutes ago, Space_man said:

Hey everyone

I am very new to everything to do with astronomy/looking through a telescope and I have recently bought my first scope (a 8" dob) which came with a 25mm and a 10mm eyepiece but I am looking to upgrade but don't know what is good.

Any help or advice on what eyepieces I should be looking at buying would be much appreciated (budget is anywhere form 0 to 100 pounds per eyepiece)

Look at BST starguiders. They are very good value.

Steve

• Like 2

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

I also have an 8" dob and have purchased the full set ( bar1) of the BST Starguider range. They are a big step up in quality and performance from the standard eye pieces and cost around £45 each. Most members on here highly approve of these eye pieces, And I am very pleased with them all. 

DSC_0436.JPG

Just to be sure that it's clear for you BST Starguiders 😉  

Otherwise you could have a look at the Skywatcher Planetaries (for different focal length than BSTs) and if you want something better you could have a look at the Explore scientific 82° range (although they are a bit above your budget... maybe for later or for a focal length you particularly enjoy)