Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The Age Profile...

Mark Henthorne

I doubt there is any "scientific" data available, so simply doing a straw poll here, how does everyone read their own situation? Is the average age of those attending your astronomical society meetings, or maybe just your circle of astronomy friends, increasing year by year, remaining static, or getting younger, and what reasons do you believe are attributable to your perception?

In the city in which I used to live, I attended very lively astronomy club meetings. Unfortunately, I moved away from this city eight years ago, and, as I now am an astronomy "lone wolf", I can only a somewhat off-topic comment.

I work as an instructor, and I prefer to look at it as follows (which I call Jones's theory of relativity): every year the first-year students get a year younger.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

I get the impression it's mostly "old guys"... I hoped for more "non-blokes"? lol 😉
It is *difficult* to optimise the location of Astro Socs... But I was totally impressed
by the enthusiasm of our LOCAL *stalwarts*... Sadly I don't have transport now. 😐

Edited by Macavity

I find the age profile to be mainly mature and older adults in my encounters with other observers. For me this has been mostly a go it alone hobby which started long before the internet.

Bit more of an informal club, but the Baker Street Irregular Astronomers in London has a real mix in both age and gender.  I imagine the average age is somewhere in the late 30s to early 40s, and while we have plenty pushing into their 50's and 60's, we also get quite a few in their late teens and twenties.  While there are certainly more men, on any one month perhaps 25-40% will be female.

• Like 1

Thank you to everyone for their interesting and varied responses.