Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi! I am very new to SGL (just signed up a couple of mins earlier) and to astronomy as well, though I have been facinated with celestial bodies since I can remember.  I recently purchased a Celestron Powerseeker 127EQ but now I’m having troubles using it and I can’t seem to see anything through it. I also have a Celestron collimating eyepiece but I still can’t seem to make it work. Anyone here who has experience with the same scope? Would appreciate if we could chat a bit as I would be really interested in your experience and how you ultimately made it work!

PeterCPC thanks a lot!! I was actually able to set up my 127EQ a couple of times now but when I look through it I see nothing... I was thinking maybe it’s about the telescope not being collimated so I tried using Celestron collimating eyepiece but to no success. :(

I owned some years ago a similar scope but it was the 114 version.  I found the mount difficult to use but the optics great.

Are you by any chance trying to use the Barlow lens?  I could never see anything with the Barlow lens.  I would try initially using the lowest powered eye piece.  Point to something bright like the Moon and get it in focus.  Then if you want to increase the focus, replace the eye piece with a stronger one and re-focus.  But with this mount you will need to be quick as objects will pass out of the field of view (FOV) very quickly as the Earth rotates.  This is why the Barlow lens (doubling the magnification) makes it much more tricky.  

Once you have the Moon in focus you can move to other targets. 

HTH

Carole 

• Thanks 1

16 minutes ago, anachristina said:

PeterCPC thanks a lot!! I was actually able to set up my 127EQ a couple of times now but when I look through it I see nothing... I was thinking maybe it’s about the telescope not being collimated so I tried using Celestron collimating eyepiece but to no success. :(