Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Which of these Barlows should I buy?

Hello, I am new to this message board. This is actually my first post. I am also very new to astronomy. I recently bought my first telescope, but I have only used it once because of all the rain and cloudy nights. After using it, I quickly realized I need to upgrade my eyepieces. So just some info on my telescope, so that you can help me better. I have a 5 inch aperture, and 1000mm focal length. I do know the basics, I know I shouldn’t go over 300x magnification with my telescope specs, and I should get eyepieces that won’t overlap when I use a barlow. So with all that being said, these are the two eyepieces I am getting:

Baader Planetarium 10mm Hyperion Modular Eyepiece - 1.25"

Baader Planetarium 8mm Hyperion Modular Eyepiece for 1.25" and 2" Focusers

Now these are the three Barlow’s I am considering buying along with the eyepieces. Does anyone have any experience with either of these three? Any information would be appreciated! Which of the three would you recommend?

Baader Planetarium Hyperion Zoom Barlow 2.25X

ORION High-Power 1.25 Inch 2X 4-Element Barlow Lens

Televue 2x Barlow 1.25 inch (1-1/4 in.)

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I wouldn't go above 200x, personally, with a 5 inch scope unless it's an APO refractor.  That being said, I'd spend the money on a 5mm BST Starguider from FLO instead of a barlow to get to that maximum power.

If you really want a barlow, hunt around for a used 1.25" Meade 140 2x barlow.  I have several samples of it, and each is as good as my 1.25" TV 2x barlow.  They usually go for about $35 to $45 used here in the US.  As a bonus, the optical element is 1.25" filter threaded (unlike the TV optical element), so it can be threaded directly onto any 1.25" eyepiece for a lower power boost.

Baader Planetarium Hyperion Zoom Barlow 2.25X

This one is a dedicated barlow for the Baader Hyperion 8-24mm zoom eyepiece...