Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Portable EAA Setup

festoon

Just wanted to report on the great experience I have just had over the past week with my new set up. I am really new to video astronomy, and had not even thought about it until I saw the various threads on the Unistellar eVscope. Also this is my first write up of any of my equipment :)

I've previously had some good nights with my C8 on HEQ5 imaging planets using a QHY5L-II camera, but I found the faff of having to set up, making sure the laptop is charged, cold fingers, laptop battery running out. Sometimes by the time I had got through the whole set up, ready to go it took so long that the corrector plate had dewed over, or clouds had started to roll in.

In my back garden, using the C8 I have struggled to see any detail on galaxies and to be honest even struggled to see anything at all apart from a very faint occasional galaxy smudge. Good examples of this have been a long quest to get a good view of M81 and M82.

The aim of this set up was to put together a set up that I can have fully assembled, ready to go and to try and bring out detail that I just cant visually on deep sky objects from my back garden.