Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which One?

I’m an absolute beginner and after star gazing while on holiday in France last year seeing the 1000s of stars my wife & I decided we need to be able to see some of them a bit closer. I have narrowed the selection down to the following

Celestron NexStar 102SLT

Skywatcher Explorer 130 or 130P

Sky-Watcher Skyhawk 1145PS or AZ EQ Avant

Sky-Watcher Skyhawk 1145P

But which one do I go for?  The Celestron is the most expensive at £220 on Amazon and the cheapest is the 1145P at £134 from FirstLightOptics

What I’m wanting to do is astrophotography as well as gazing. Any advice gratefully received

Colin, in the spirit of welcome I say hello. But I’m afraid I can’t help too much here.

I’m visual only and also not experienced enough to advise on this scope or that. Each in your list is well respected.

However, since you put astrophotography before ‘gazing’ in your goals everybody will tell you to concentrate on the mount.

Enjoy the hobby - and the learning curve it will take you on. ??

The skywatcher 130PDS is a very capable scope for astrophotography but as mentioned above, the mount is just as important, if not more important than the scope. 

Take a look at this thread to see what it's capable of.

Hi Colin, and welcome.

Seeing you are new to astronomy, perhaps it would be a good idea to get a scope to learn and enjoy the stars first. Then in time move onto astrophotography?

I am purely visual as 'Floater'.

Astrophotography can bump up your budget by a very large margin.

Skywatcher  scopes are good value money, and the 130P would be a good start, although the 130pds on a good mount would be ideal for astrophotography (although the mount will bump up the budget again).

130pds EQ3

Lots of choices, you could go down the dobsonian route (cheap and cheerful) , then branch out later into EQ mounts and astrophotography in time?.

Anyway have fun, and others here will surely give you lots more ideas.