NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Flaming Star & Tadpoles Nebula (8 hrs) in Bi-Colour with RGB Stars

Xiga

Hello fellow gazers...

I started shooting this one back on Feb 20, when i grabbed 11 x 1200s of Ha subs. 4 of the 11 were not of great quality, due to some light intermittent clouds, but i included them anyway in the stack (such is the trust i place in APP's 'Quality' algorithm). 

Then on March 3 i finally got another clear night, so while i waited for the sports facilities floodlights to switch off, i grabbed a short set of 20 x 90s RGB subs (just the D5300 with no filter) so i could use them for RGB stars. Then afterwards managed to grab 12 x 1200s of OIII subs. 

It's been a busy month (house move coming up) so i've only just got around to looking at it now. Processing this one has been a challenge. I wanted to push it hard, to show up some of the nebulosity that sits between the two nebulae, which meant the sky background became an utter pain to deal with. It was noisier than i would like, and still is, hence the need to use more noise reduction than i would normally. Having the stars in a separate layer is great, makes processing so much simpler. It has also improved my workflow i think, as i now tend to end up with an image that has 3 layers, Luminance, Colour, and Stars, rather than a single layer (which i sometimes would, due to laziness!). So now it's easier to go back and fix something later if i decide i don't like it. 

Full details:

11 x 1200s Ha (2" Baader mounted)

12 x 1200s OIII (2" Baader mounted)

20 x 90s RGB (for stars only)

Nikon D5300 (modded)

SW 80ED w FF/FR

HEQ5-Pro

Captured with SGP, pre-processed in APP, post-processed in PS. 

Ha assigned to Red, OIII to Blue, and Green was synthesized using one of Noel Carboni's actions in PS.