NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi guy's....I'm new to SGL and a typical newbie at astronomy but have found myself drawn to the heavens from a few nights out light painting and star trailing  with my trusty olly omd em5(2) and I'm looking for my first scope but have become overwhelmed by the choices available and what my actual intentions  are at this early stage....I know I like a refractor from my early teenage years but have been put off by some reviews of the more budget offerings due to the c.a's...so turned my attention to the skywatcher 80 ed pro...but I'm not actually sure what I'll be able to view with this small aperture scope and then I've looked at the sw reflectors which seem the best bang for buck but not quite as portable as the little ed 80......or else I could get a tracking mount for my camera/tripod and  a cheap refractor/mount combo....first of all I'm not really looking to get into astrophotography at the moment..it's just too expensive to be bitten by that bug...I do like doing wide angle night photography with foreground interest which is doable.....while my camera is sitting taking pics I want to be viewing in Greater detail through the scope .oh and I have around £550 -£600 to spend at the moment.I live only around a half hours drive from the Galloway forest in the south of Scotland.thanks in advance for any pointers.

Welcome to SGL... have you considered a SCT?.. a 8" will show you heaps of objects and amazing planetary detail compared to a 80mm refractor, and price wise would be similar to a higher end 80mm refractor. As a added bonus it looks and operates like a classic book telescope where you look into it back end...