SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Full frame canon body worth it??

Astroblagger

Iv been getting more and more into time lapses with my S.A and been looking into Motorized sliding rails too, but my question is are full frame cameras worth the extra cash?

Im aware of the crop factor etc, but has anyone recently moved from APS-c to full frame? What are your thoughts? Iv been looking at the Canon EOS 5D mark2 as it has live view.

I have just bought a canon 5D mk4 but not used it for AP yet. I am aware that you get a much wider field due to the larger sensor. I was using a 60D crop sensor with        18mp and the 5D has 30mp so it should be better resolution. I am really looking forward to trying it.

I got the camera as a business asset as I am a photographer. If not for that I probably would have not spent as much. As for whether full frame is worth the extra is up to you. You will get a good bargain on the second hand market.

"Worth it" is very difficult to answer.

You should certainly notice a big difference between your 600D and a FF. See my sig', 700D, 7D, and 5DIII.

Noise control improves dramatically as you go up the line + the 'pro' bodies are weather proof etc.

But the price per picture also increases dramatically.

Do I need a FF 5DIII for the type of photography I do, most certainly not, but do I enjoy using the best tool I could afford, most certainly YES.

One caution, if you have a large collection of APS-C designed lenses 'white square' they simply will not fit onto a FF body, all 'red dot' lenses will fit either type.

Rich