NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Another Andromeda (my 1st attempt using a Canon 135mm lens).

Ryan_86

Hi all, this is my 1st attempt using a Canon 18-135mm telephoto lens at 135mm. Im new to astrophotgraphy so am pretty pleased with my results. I used a Canon 600D unmoded on a Star Adventurer. This image is stack from 25×2min lights, 15 darks & 20 bias, my flats had uneven lighting so no good. I used DSS & PS, its fair to say I am a complete novice with PS, so am learning gradually. It was taken on the outskirts of the Brecon Beacons.

I've attached a jpeg for you guys to see.

Thanks

Ryan

JPEG-Flattened-result-PS.jpg

Thanks for the positive comments all.

Happy-Kat I didn't think to use my tablet, I will take it on my next outing. Brilliant thanks :)

Tommohawk yes all was taken in RAW & I cropped the master stack before processing in PS. The blackpoint is reading lower around the edges and corners compared to the rest of the background. This is where I am a little stuck, the majority of the background is reading 22-27ish (blackpoint), what is the best method to lighten these darker parts other than cropping further more?

Any help would be massively appreciated.

Thanks again all.

My free trial run out before taking this, so am hoping for an early Christmas pressie of a family member.

Am I able to plug in another free trial using a different email account? Just to keep me going until Christmas I was thinking.

Thanks

Ryan

5 hours ago, happy-kat said:

That's come out well.

I use the android app lightbox as my 7 inch tablet fits well over a camera lens for taking flats with if that helps.

Do you place a white cloth/thsirt over the lens before placing the tablet up against the lens? 

Cheers