NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Sky-Watcher EQ5 PRO

Hi

I am a complete beginner but want to extend my current hobby (photography) by getting into astro photography. I am looking at buying a Sky-Watcher EQ5 PRO mount.

I am looking at this mount because it will enable me to stepup from just using my DSLR to using a telescope in the future.

I am a little confused. I have been reading reviews about the mount and keep seeing questions around a polar scope.

Do i need to buy this in addition to the mount or does one come with it?

Also, could anyone point me in the right direction for a good battery for this mount?

cheers

Welcome ksoc,

I have one of those mounts, it works well for light to medium sized scopes and equipment (below 10kg). What telescope do you have?

The polarscope is included with the mount, unless you buy it second hand and someone has removed it for some reason.

Dan.

The EQ5 is fine for nice easy sort of non-serious AP. Serious is when people really start in with guiding and mono with the required filter wheel. So a lot depends on the intended use the mount and scope will be put to. Be aware that these days a good and serious setup is going to come in at around £20,000.

The EQ5 with a 70-72mm ED and a DSLR will be fine, it should also take a guide scope+camera, after that the weight will be getting a bit high.

What happens is that people start with a nice "small" setup then add and add and add.

IUf you need to transport the system to do imaging the the EQ5 is a nice size, the HEQ5 is a bigger item. They cannot be described as G&G. And ease of use is a bigger aspec then many realise. I got an HEQ5, left it in the car boot then went and bought an EQ5.

Search out a club if possible: http://www.astronomyclubs.co.uk/  It is worth seeing one, HEQ5, in the flesh.

1 hour ago, ronin said:

Be aware that these days a good and serious setup is going to come in at around £20,000. 

No, no, no, NO!