Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

telescopes

TITAN

Hi every 1. i've been interested in astronomy all my live but i'm very new to computers,so ive only just discovered these forums. I have a skywatcher dobsonian 150mm, but i would like something more comfortable to use. My wife is letting me spend £300 on a new scope so i was thinking of the skywatcher evo star 120. Does or has anyone got or had a evo star? If so how does it perform?

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi. Titan.

Welcome to SGL. Hope you enjoy your stay with us. You will find lots of help and advice should you need it.

Regards the 120 ev refractor, I have no experience of that particular model, but I have owned a similar type, and enjoyed it to the full. The ev will no doubt give some nice views of a variety of objects, the major planets, the moon of course, double stars, and some of the deep sky stuff too. You will of course find the equatorial mount a bit different to operating the dobsonian, but you will soon adjust to it, and tracking is easier once you have the mount aligned to the pole.

Enjoy the new instrument, and if you need anything, just ask.

Ron.

Thanks for that everyone. And thanks for making me feel welcome. I love looking at the moon and planets mostly. With a dobsonian its very difficult to find things that you cant see with the naked eye in deep sky. Hopefully with my new one it will be easire to find things. I am going to have a look at some orion scopes before i make up my mind. I think my budget of £300 mite not be enough for an orion.

Hi Titan