Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Vibration help. Common Question

Hi everyone.

I'm a new amateur, and so far I've had one very good evening session viewing the moon and Jupiter.  I'm only using a Nexstar 5SE, but I was totally blown away, and now i'm hooked.

However, one of the things that was compromising my viewing quality, was the amount of vibration seen through the EP.  Some of it was induced by me everytime I focused or adjusted the scope, but most of it was through the ground, I believe.  I found it very frustrating.

I've dug a little deeper and found that it might help to put down some isolation pads on the ground under the tripod feet, fill the lower leg extensions with sand, and hang a weight under the EP tray.

I plan on doing all the above to experiment for myself, but i'd be keen to hear from anyone who may have gone a little further with these basics.  For example, if its common to hang the weight by string, has anyone experimented by actually fixing a weight to the underside of the EP tray (the 5SE has a long stud that hangs from the mount for the EP tray to attach to, I could fasten a threaded 1kg slug here), and did it make any difference?  Or perhaps the string actually serves a purpose and improve the damping by partially isolating the weight from the mount?

Perhaps some people have tried using something other than sand for the legs, like lead shot perhaps, or even a cold curing sealant or rubber, and had better results?

What about the fork arm?  Is it possible to isolate some vibration by balancing or adding some weight to the OTA, or the even to the arm itself?

Like I said, I am a total newb, so I could be totally barking up the wrong tree with these ideas (or just barking mad), but please feel free to throw any ideas or feedback at me.  I'd love to hear what others have tried and failed or succeeded at.

Thanks again.

Happy viewing.

Matt

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply