Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

3rd try. Comments and suggestions?

Hi guys.

Last night I had the chance to try my setup for the 3rd time. The results can't even be compared to my 1st and 2nd times and it's not even close to what some of you guys are doing here but I think it's a good start.

I used DSS for all of them: 21 lights, 26 darks, 23 flats and 26 bias.

Please bare in mind that this is the 1st I managed to make my setup work and it's the 1st time I'm taking darks, flats and bias and 1st try when I'm trying to process photos.

Out of all of them I like the M42 the best. I'm sure there's a lot wrong with them.

I think I've done something wrong when I took the darks too.

Any comments are much appreciated, don't be too harsh though, I'm only a newbie.

M42

M42a.png

M51

M51a_edited-1.png

M81-M82

M82.png

M1

M1.png

And have a look at one of the Dark frames.

Dark.png

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi. Lovely shots. I think there could be more detail lurking in the Orion snap. You could stretch -develop- it more. Darks: just don't use them. Stack the light, flat and bias frames only. I found that on my Canon, the dark frames introduced more noise. And they're a pain to have to do. And it's impossible to get the temperature right for them. HTH.

19 minutes ago, alacant said:

You could stretch -develop- it more

To be honest , I don't even know what I'm doing ? 

I'm only using some freeware software for the processing and don't even know what the buttons do. Trying them one by one to see the difference. ?

There seems to be a glare in my photos and I don't know what's causing it.

Can it be the camera heating up or msybe the clip in filter not properly cleaned?

They are very good for your 3rd attempt :happy11: well done,