NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Brilliant observing day - Moon, Planets + HH + Bubble etc

Mark at Beaufort

Yesterday was an excellent start to the New Year.

In the morning I observed the Sun with my Lunt solar binos + the PST to view a few Proms and Filaments.

I set up the 12" Dob late afternoon because I wanted to see a particular crater from the Lunar 100 list.  I have been covering this list for 7 years and for some reason had not recorded the Faults, Rilles and Domes in the Cauchy region. Well that has now been covered using the 6.7mm and 4.7mm ES82 EPs. The Moon was very sharp so also studied Messier, Pickering and Censorinus.

Next over to the Planets viewing Venus with its phase, Mars, Neptune and Uranus - no Moons viewed.

I had planned an evening of DSOs starting with 3 Galaxies in Eridanus which are contained in the Secret Deep book. Started with NGC1300 which was faint being so low and in a misty area - saw it with averted vision using the 13mm Ethos. Next two Galaxies NGC 1400 and NGC1407 are in the same FOV of the 13mm Ethos - both appear round with NGC1407 brighter.

Wanted to check DSOs in Cassopeia and started with NGC281 (Pacman Neb) - fitted a Castell O-III filter to my 20mm Myraid and was able to see the shape of the Neb. Over to M52 a lovely cluster and used both my 13mm Ethos and 11mm ES82. Before trying the Bubble I viewed NGC7538 ( Cepheus) using my Lumicon UHC on the 13mm Ethos. This is a nice Neb and has two stars right in the Centre. Before leaving Cepheus I viewed a fantastic cluster  NGC 7510 - really recommend this one. Whilst there had a look at King 19.

I was not hopeful with the Bubble (NGC7635) having failed several times before. I fitted the Castell O-III onto the 20mm Myraid and I could detect a faint glow - no Bubble - but I could see parts of this Emission Neb.